Close Menu

Extraordinary Leaders Honored at AIA Philadelphia Awards

We honored extraordinary Collaborative leaders at the AIA Philadelphia Design Awards Celebration last night with three awards which recognize the impact of the Community Design Collaborative’s pro bono preliminary design services – and the people behind this important work.

Beth Miller, Executive Director of the Community Design Collaborative, received AIA Philadelphia’s 2019 Paul Philippe Cret Award. The award recognizes individuals or organizations who are not architects that have made an outstanding and lasting contribution to the design of buildings, structures, landscapes, and the public realm of Greater Philadelphia.

The late Paul Sehnert received the Collaborative's 2019 Alan Greenberger Award. This award recognizes AIA Philadelphia members or affiliate members for their significant contribution and demonstrated commitment to the Collaborative’s mission. Sehnert was an inspiring Collaborative board leader for over a decade and an advocate for innovative urban design and development as Director of Real Estate Development for the University of Pennsylvania.

Our 2019 Paul Sehnert Award for Community Design recognized a project that will have a big impact on Oxford Circle students and residents.

Finally, volunteer design professionals from Stantec and the DeBruyn Group received the Collaborative's 2019 Paul Sehnert Award for Community Design for their collaboration with the Oxford Circle Christian Community Development Association for Laurel H. Carnell Elementary School: Conceptual Design for Open Space Improvements. This award recognizes one pro bono preliminary design project each year for excellence in design, collaboration, and community impact. The Collaborative has renamed this longstanding award in memory of Paul Sehnert.



More Info