Close Menu


Judging will occur in three phases. The first phase of judging will be conducted by a panel of expert jurors (listed below), each with experience and expertise relevant to the design challenge and/or the three competition sites. The panel will select up to three finalists in each category based on their scoring of the entries using submission evaluation criteria as outlined in the competition packet. 

The second phase of judging will be by the community for each of the three sites. Entries from the finalists for each site will be shared with the three communities for review and community members will have the opportunity to vote for their preferred entry.

The third phase of judging will occur at Infill Philadelphia: Play Space Design Awards where finalists will present their entries to an awards jury and public audience. The awards jury will be composed of influential leaders and advocates in the Philadelphia area from the design, early childhood education and development, play, implementation, public policy, civic and government communities.


Cobbs Creek Library
Joe Benford, Free Library of Philadelphia
Darren Cottman, Free Library of Philadelphia

Waterloo Recreation Center
Kathleen Muller, Philadelphia Parks & Recreation

Haverford Bright Futures
Denise Ellis, Philadelphia School District

Design & Open Space
Betsy Caesar, Med CPSI, Playcare, Inc.
Nette Compton, RLA, ASLA, Trust for Public Land
Shawn McCaney, William Penn Foundation

Laurel L. Byrne, Ed.D., LaSalle University
Peg Szczurek, Delaware Valley Association for the Education of Young Children (DVAEYC)

Ken Finch, Nature Play and Nature Preschools
Debbie Green, Parent Infant Center

Green Stormwater Infrastructure
Chris Crockett, Philadelphia Water
Stephanie Chiorean, Philadelphia Water

Public Health
Amanda Wagner, MCP, MGA, Get Healthy Philly/Philadelphia Department of Public Health


Jannie Blackwell, City Councilwoman, District 3, Philadelphia City Council, invited
Jenny Bogoni, READ! by 4th
Joanne Dahme, Philadelphia Water
Tammy Leigh Dement, Pennsylvania Horticultural Society (PHS)
Sharon Easterling, Delaware Valley Association for the Education of Young Children (DVAEYC)
Anne Fadullon, City of Philadelphia, Planning and Development
Andy Frishkoff, Local Initiative Support Corporation (LISC)
John Gattuso, Liberty Property Trust
Anne Gemmell, City of Philadelphia, Pre-K
Jarrod Green, Children’s Community School
Prema Gupta, Philadelphia Industrial Development Corporation (PIDC)
Bryan Hanes, ASLA, LEED, Studio Bryan Hanes
Belinda Mayo, City of Philadelphia, Office of Housing and Community Development
Michael McTigue, GlaxoSmithKline (GSK)
Kathleen Muller, Philadelphia Parks and Recreation (PPR)
Siobhan Reardon, Free Library of Philadelphia
Richard Roark, ASLA, BD+C, OLIN
Ellen Ryan, Fairmount Park Conservancy (FPC)
Thomas A. Schweiker, RA, School District of Philadelphia
Denise Thompson, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, AIA Philadelphia and Francis Cauffman
Jeffrey Tubbs, Make the World Better (MTWB)
Rebecca Udell, Commercial Real Estate Women (CREW) Philadelphia and KSS Architects
Nicole Ward, AIA, School District of Philadelphia
Elliot Weinbaum, PhD, William Penn Foundation
Maria Quiñones-Sánchez, City Councilwoman, District 7, Philadelphia City Council, invited


Maiken Scott, Behavioral Health Reporter, WHYY, host of “The Pulse”



More Info