Close Menu

2018 Volunteer Awards

Every year, the Community Design Collaborative recognizes volunteers for design excellence and outstanding community service. Congratulations to our latest award recipients!


Outstanding Team |  Individuals

for exemplary commitment to community design as a team of individual volunteers
Neil Garry, Stephen Panasci, Himanshu Parmar, Amy Syverson-Shaffer, Kristina Vagen
... for their teamwork on Concert Garden: Conceptual Design for Revitalization

Outstanding Team | Firm

for exemplary commitment to community design as a firm volunteer
EwingCole Levina Chi, Carter Hayes, Sandra Kalanyan, Hilary Langer, Telsa Love, Zachary Wagner
... for their teamwork with A K Architecture, LLC;  sbk + partners, LLC;  DEDC, LLC;  and Domus, Inc. on Penn AC Boathouse: Conceptual Design for Facility Improvements

Outstanding Team | Interdisciplinary

for exemplary interdisciplinary collaboration
AOS Ruthie Embry, Jennifer Kim, Sam Olshin, Jacob Volanski | Bruce E. Brooks & Associates Susan August, Dania Austin, Brad Randall, Stephen Wayland | Eisterhold Associates Inc Gerard Eisterhold | International Consultants, Inc. Michael Funk | KMK Technologies, LLC Thomas Knauss | Keast & Hood Ari Seraphin | Dianne Loftis
... for their teamwork on Mother Bethel: Conceptual Design for Facility Improvements and Museum Expansion

Outstanding Collaboration

for exemplary partnerships
AECOM Doug Robbins | D2CA Architects LLC Michael Spain | ex;it Jackie Schlindwein | The FGX Group Frank Gallagher | Ian Smith Design Group Ian Smith | Miller Design Group, LLC Robin Miller | Elizabeth Class-Maldonado | Kathryn Dethier | Katarina Dudas
... for their collaboration with Allegheny West Foundation and AIA Philadelphia's Architecture in Education Program on AWF: Conceptual Design for Creating a Sense of Place on the North 22nd Street Corridor

Outstanding Volunteers

for exemplary commitment to community design

Jeff Alexander
Lisa Armstrong
Suzanna Barucco
Jeremiah Belocura
Nick Calcagni
Julia Dallas
Alisa McCann
Julie Morningstar
Allison Rametta
Ann Rothman
Abby Sandherr

Best Supporting Actor

for exemplary contributions to a team through a supporting discipline 
Joseph B. Callaghan, Inc.
Benjamin Bruening, Erik Villari
... for their contributions to The Vicky B: Conceptual Design for a Sustainable Mixed-Use Facility 

Rookie of the Year

for exemplary work and enthusiasm as a new firm volunteer
David Rubin Land Collective
David Rubin, David Elliott, Emily Hahn, Henry Moll, Amy Syverson-Shaffer
... for their contributions to Dolly Ottey Park: Conceptual Design for a Pocket Park

You Can Count on Me

for exemplary and endless commitment to community design

Committee Leadership

for extraordinary committee service
Megan McGinley, Design Services Committee
Betsy Way, Design Grant Review Committee 

Photo Credit: Images 2 through 5 courtesy of Chris Kendig Photography



More Info